PATNA: Nitish Kumar who was sworn in as chief minister for the first time on March 3,2000 created a record in Bihar politics by taking oath as CM for the seventh time,fourth in succession .He will be assisted by two deputy chief ministers,Tarkishore Prasad and Ms Renu Devi,but will miss Sushil Kumar Modi,his companion since 2005.
First meeting of the newly constituted cabinet decided to convene the winter session of  of the state assembly from November 23.It will continue till November 27,a government notification said.Election of new speaker will be held during the same period.
There are 7 from BJP,5 from JDU and one each from HAM and VIP.
After the ceremony,Nitish Kumar said :It is was the decision of the BJP to drop Sushil Kumar Modi.Ask them,why he was not included in the list of the ministers”.He did not reply to a question,whether he would miss Sushil Modi.

At Rajendra Mandap of Patna Raj Bhawan here,Nitish and his 14 colleagues took oath in presence of galaxy of  BJP leaders team from New Delhi.The BJP president,J P Nadda,Home Minister, Amit Shah and former chief minister of Maharashtra,Devendra Fadnawis.Entire opposition,including RJD,Congress and Left parties boycotted the programme protesting against the “hijacking: of people’s mandate”.Former deputy CM was also present.

As JDU led by Nitish Kumar is the junior partner in the NDA in Bihar,chief minister had to concede demands of the BJP leaders who have about double strength than JDU in the state assembly.

There are two deputy CMs ,both newly elected MLAs of BJP,Renu Devi,a Noniya(extremely backward castes and

Tarkishore Prasad(a bania from Katihar).They took oath in order of  precedence after chief minister.
Composition of the cabinet confirms dominance of Extremely backwards and other backward caste MLAs.Madhubani district which has 8 MLAs of NDA got two seats in the cabinet.
Former speaker of state assembly and JDU leader,Vijay Kumar Chaudhry, veteran JDU leader,Brijendra Prasad Yadav,who was energy minister have been relegated to 8th and 9th in order.PWD minister and Patna Saheb MLA of BJP,Nand Kishore Yadav,has been chosen by BJP as candidate for the office of the Speaker.

Two state parties-HAM and VIP also got representation in the cabinet when VIP president,Mukesh Sahni ,who had lost the assembly elections and Santosh Kumar Manjhi,son of the former chief minister and HAM president.Jeetan Ram Manjhi,were inducted into the cabinet
In the cabinet,Mewa Lal Chaudhury,a former vice-chancellor of Agriculture University,Sabour who was elected from Tarapur as a JDU candidate has also been included.He was sacked following registration of an FIR by vigilance department following charges of  irregularities in recruitments by Chaudhury.
Ms Sheela Mandal,a former president of Madhubani district board and wife of an engineer is  woman face of JDU in the cabinet.BJP;s Renue Devi started her political career as a volunteer of Durga Vahini in 1980 .She had defeated the present state president of BJP,Sanjay Kumar Jaiswal in 2005
From JDU quota,former education minister and working president of JDU,Ashok Kumar Chaudhury,was also inducted.
BJP legislator who found berth in the cabinet include ,former health minister,Mangal Pandey,former deputy speaker,Amrendra Pratap Singh,whose grand father,Sardar Harihar Singh  was chief minister of Bihar,Ramprit Paswan,Jivesh Kumar Mishra who had defeated the Congress candidate and former president of Aligarh Muslim University Students Union,Mohammad Usmani 
Sushil Kumar Modi who was present at Raj Bhawan said in a tweet”Mr Nitish Kumar,I wish Bihar will progress under your leadership,Mr Narendra Modi will continue to assist Bihar for ever”.
RJD leader,Tejashwi wished good luck to Nitish Kumar”the nominated chief minister” and hoped people would relief.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here